The Cornwallis Suite in Maidstone was the setting for this year’s Biannual Kent Gymnastics Awards Ceremony to recognise members of the gymnastics community for special achievements.

Julia George from BBC Radio Kent

Julia George (pictured) from BBC Radio Kent and South East Television was Guest of Honour and presented recipients with their awards.

Julia is also a ‘Gym Mum’ as both her daughters attend gymnastics clubs in Kent and she was herself a gymnast when she was a youngster.

Julia explained she enjoyed watching the Rio Olympics and was thrilled with GB gymnasts, particularly 16-year-old Amy Tinkler who won a Bronze Medal for a fantastic floor routine.

She also explained that Sports Minister Tracey Crouch MP (Chatham & Aylesford) is a regular guest on her radio show and is also a keen supporter of gymnastics.

38 individuals were nominated by clubs across Kent for awards ranging from gymnasts, coaches, judges and volunteers.

Audrey Coleman was given a special posthumous award, following her sad death in 2015. Members of Maidstone Gym Club collected the award and will be taking it to Audrey’s Widow John who now lives in Bournemouth.

Jean and Les Willis, the founders of Greenhill Gym Club were presented with a special Long Service Award and Greenhill was named as Club of The Year (150 members or less).

Elements GC was named Large Club of The Year and Jumpers was runner up in the same category.

The full list of award recipients is below:

Gymnast of the year

Men's Artistic
Courtney Tulloch, Pegasus
James Hall, Pegasus

Natasha Woodall, Jumpers
Amy Hands, Jumpers (Runner Up)

Team Gym
Beau Johnson, Elements

Floor & Vault
Hannah Wallace, Pegasus
Elspeth Dunster, Weald (Runner Up)

Women’s Artistic
Nula Eldridge, Weald

Carina Brown, Pegasus

Coach & Judge Development Awards

Coach Development James Coomber, Jumpers

Judge Development Mel Alesi, Jumpers

Long Service Awards

Marion Paterson, Elements

Tony Baker, Maidstone

Emma Clough, Pegasus,

Suzanne Wilkins, Jumpers

Jacky Leman, Weald and Kent Gymnastics Executive Committee

Outstanding Long Service Jean & Les Willis, Greenhill

Volunteer of the year Awards

Under 19

Scarlett Wright, Pegasus

Francesca Box, Elements

Jennifer White, Elements

Tabitha Coulthard, Weald

Isabella Stephens Weald

Shaelei Parmar, Maidstone

James Ferrari, Jumpers

Outstanding Volunteer Maddy Wells, Weald


Katie Mouser, Weald

Amy Couchman Vertical Velocity

Eleanor Friday, Maidstone

Richeal Grant Jumpers

Samantha Gibson, Greenhill

Outstanding Volunteer: Paul Friday Maidstone, and Clair Griffiths, Pegasus

Special recognition for services to Kent Gymnastics

Charlie Wells Pegasus

Dexter Millen, Aire

Zoe Hoadley, Maidstone

Sarah Brockman Maidstone

Special Posthumous Award Audrey Coleman, Maidstone

Club of The Year

150 members or less Greenhill GC

151 members or more Elements GC

Jumpers (Runner Up)

page created: 27 September 2016